New Zealand unveil 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022

New Zealand Cricket (NZC), on Tuesday, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to begin in Australia from October 16.

Only three changes have been made to the Black Caps squad that featured in the final of the 2021 T20 World Cup, with Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell and Finn Allen replacing Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle and Tim Seifert, respectively.

Devon Conway will be the frontline wicketkeeper, while Mark Chapman and Ish Sodhi have retained their places. Veteran Martin Guptill will take up the opener’s responsibility and become the first New Zealander to appear at seven men’s T20 World Cups. Regular skipper Kane Williamson will lead the side.

Notably, the same squad will play the T20 tri-series involving Pakistan and Bangladesh, which will start early next month in Christchurch.

“It’s always a special time announcing a World Cup squad, and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It’s especially exciting for Finn and Michael, who are set for their first ICC events, while Martin Guptill is preparing for his 7th T20 World Cup – which in itself is an incredible achievement,” said Gary Stead, the New Zealand head coach, in a statement.

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket but couldn’t quite get over the line at the end. With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism,” he added.

New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lachlan Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.

Source link